WedAlert.com Scam Bride (03/05/2007)  
New scam warning 2/16/09

To our valued Wedding Professionals.

It has been brought to our attention that several of our photographers have been receiving scam emails from fake brides inquiring about their services. Below is an example of how the email will look.
The emails all have same wording, different date/venue

(with the exact same wording, different date/venue) First Name: Terry Last Name: james Email: terryj111222@yahoo.com Phone:(410) 233-3377 (Prefer on Email) Wedding Date: 06/09/2009 Comments: HELLO, MY NAME IS TERRY AND MY FIANCYS NAME IS MARY. WE ARE PLANINNING FOR OUR WEDDING COMMING UP ON THE 9th MAY 2009. VENEU IS : Community Northeast Church of Christ 2130 24th Place NE Washington, District of Columbia 20018 RECEPTION: THE CHURCH HALL. TIME: 10AM - 3PM PLS GET BACK TO ME WITH YOU PRICES AND PACKAGES. HOPE TO READ FROM YOU SOON. LOT OF LOVE FROM KELLY & MARY.

To all of our Photographer and Videographer clients,

We have received several complaints from your fellow photographers that they have received more email scams. This person is preying on vulnerable and inexperienced photographers. THIS IS A SCAM! There are several posts on the PPA website warning people like this. Below are two samples posted on the PPA website of what happens when thieves like this steal from professionals:

One email address we have is john_michael2100@yahoo.com We have deleted his information from our system.

The Nigerian "Funds Forwarding" Scam Continues to Evolve

Over the past two years PPA has warned members warning not to act on emails they receive regarding Nigerian check cashing scams. In a recent version of the scam, photographers are being contacted by a foreign national to photograph a birthday party in their local area. The initial email message asks about the photographer’s fees and does not mention the funds-forwarding process.

If the photographer replies to the inquiry, the “client” will tell the photographer they will receive a check in excess of the funds needed for the photo assignment. The photographer is instructed to cash the check and forward the remaining funds back to the client, minus the photographer’s fees. The photographer will eventually receive an “insufficient funds” notice from their bank after the funds have been forwarded, at which time it will be too late to recover the money.

AND

Warning: New Scam Targets Professional Photographers
In a new twist on an old scam, con artists are now targeting professional photographers with a variation on the popular "funds forwarding" scheme.

Also known as a "Nigerian" or "4-1-9" scam, the fund forwarding scheme is relatively simple in principle. As an example, the photographer is contacted by e-mail from someone out of the country asking for pricing information for their wedding. Once the photographer sets a price for coverage, the con artist offers to retain the photographerís services - and sends a check for an amount well above the cost of the wedding coverage. The con artist then requests that the photographer forward the overage of the funds via wire transfer to the minister conducting the ceremony, who is also in another country. For example, if the photography fee is $1,000, the con artist sends a check for $5,000 and asks that $4,000 be forwarded.

The check, of course, will bounce - but the victim will not receive that notification for up to 14 days. In the meantime, the con artist has pocketed $4,000 that was wired to them and disappeared.

If anyone has further information regarding these types of scams, please email our customer support team so that we may pass it along to others.

WedAlert Customer Support Team
WedAlert.com
customercare@wedalert.com
p. 201-996-1980



WedAlert.com
1-201-996-1980 / 1-888-878-1982


WedAlert.com Scam Bride (09/12/2006)  

To all of our Photographer clients,

We have received several complaints from your fellow photographers that they have received emails from a bride named Loretta Allen. She has contacted photographers from all over the country and claims to be getting married in their state. The email address that she is using is lorettakeepinit_4real@yahoo.com We would like to inform you that this is some sort of scam. She is not listed with WedAlert and you should disregard any correspondence from her. If you have any questions, please contact our customer care department.
Sincerely,


Scam Bride update. (09/11/2006)
Please be advised that Loretta Allen is continuing correspondence with some of your fellow photographers. She is now in the payment stage of her negotiations and has informed them that she has sent too much money for their services and would like the difference mailed back. Be advised that this is a scam.


Scam Bride update. (09/18/2006)
Please be advised if a customer sends you a check that is over the amount that you have requested for your services, do not cash it and send back the remainder.
This is the latest information that we have received regarding "scam brides." It seems that the "bride" is sending too much money and saying that part of it was to pay the wedding planner or another vendor and it was all sent to the you by accident and to please forward the remainder to her.
If anyone has further information regarding these types of scams, please email our customer support team so that we may pass it along to others.

WedAlert Customer Support Team
WedAlert.com
customercare@wedalert.com
p. 201-996-1980
f. 201-996-1981



WedAlert.com
1-201-996-1980 / 1-888-878-1982


WedAlert.com Security Center  
To all our valued users and wedding related companies:

It has come to our attention that someone has been sending out e-mails containing a virus and disguising those e-mails as though they were sent by WedAlert. These e-mails have had the subject E-mail technical support warning, and have contained an attachment. Do not open an attachment from a WedAlert e-mail unless you are expecting one from us. Please beware of e-mails that look like the ones below:


Subject: E-mail technical support warning.

Dear user, the management of Wedalert.com mailing system wants to let you know that,

Our main mailing server will be temporary unavaible for next two days, to continue receiving mail in these days you have to configure our free auto-forwarding service.

For more information see the attached file.

Kind regards,
The Wedalert.com team
http://www.wedalert.com


Subject: E-mail technical support message.

Hello user of Wedalert.com e-mail server,

Some of our clients complained about the spam (negative e-mail content) outgoing from your e-mail account. Probably, you have been infected by a proxy-relay trojan server. In order to keep your computer safe, follow the instructions.

For more information see the attached file.

Cheers,
The Wedalert.com team
http://www.wedalert.com


Additionally, WedAlert will never ask for personal information in an e-mail, or send attachments to e-mails.

Here is some basic information on spotting spoof e-mails:

Although there's no foolproof formula for spotting a spoof e-mail, these signs should arouse your suspicion:

  1. There may be a sense of urgency. EXAMPLE: Your account will be closed or temporarily suspended.
  2. There may be obvious spelling errors. These help spoof e-mails avoid spam filters that ISP's use.

If you have any questions about an e-mail you receive from WedAlert, call us at 888-878-1982 and we will be happy to assist you.

Thanks for your continued support.
WedAlert Team

WedAlert.com
1-201-996-1980 / 1-888-878-1982